The world and beyond – Surviving in the economic jungle

Advice, tips and tricks on how to engage with the UK jobs market and commercial environment, from a female executive's perspective

“I wanna start a fight” – The value of controversy in #social media #LinkedIn

leave a comment »


Fight

 

Last week, some of you may have noticed my little public rant on LinkedIn, via blog post.

 

It was sparked by the continued appearance of “naughty”-ish photos of ladies in revealing postures on my LinkedIn feed.

 

To be honest, I find it unsettling to be innocently engaging with my clients via LinkedIn, when unexpected pictures of boobs and bums flash up on my page. They are always accompanied by lewd comments from blokes like “Lovely” or “yummy” or similar. These comments are the reason the pics end up in my feed in the first place. I find it irritating so had the need to vent. And I did – very satisfactorily, thank you very much!

If I want to see lady bits, I have my own to look at. I don’t want to see it in my LinkedIn feed (Especially not slightly saggy, middle-aged lady bits, I dare say!)

And releasing and relaxing as the rant was, it had an unexpected added benefit: The traffic to my LinkedIn profile and blog increased dramatically.

It was, in fact, my most commented on and liked post so far this year.

According to LinkedIn’s stats:

  • My profile views were up 467% from the previous week
  • My ranking for profile views, as compared to other professionals with similar backgrounds, went up by 35%
  • I now find myself in the top 17% of profiles like mine across LinkedIn
  • The job titles and industries of those who looked at my profile was spread diversely, rather than being focused in a particular area
  • I had 12 connection requests within 2 days from people I have not connected with before, and several others which I declined
  • Hits on my blog post for that day, where I wrote the original article featuring a pair of sexy legs in black stockings, went up by 32%

The comments on the actual post ranged from :

“We all need humour and a cheer up though… Let’s not get too serious, if it’s not your cup of tea don’t read it, don’t post negative stuff just search for the stuff you want and join the right groups”

to 

“An excellent ‘rant’ Cathy and I think very justified with some of the current postings on LinkedIn – not just those of women but some of the maths problems etc which belong on Facebook. I have now started to remove people or hide their listings who constantly post such inappropriate matter. Thank you for sharing your view-point.”

Now here is my point:

Social media is about engaging, sharing and communicating.

I think this unplanned exercise has proven that saying what you think, honestly and directly, encourages engagement. I am not saying that starting a fight is good idea, not is it conducive to the wider peace of the community. What I am saying that creating interest means stepping out of the norm, expressing views and opinions, making yourself known for your values and your mindset.

Those who like what they read, will want to connect with you. Those who don’t like what they read, may want to debate with you. Whether they agree or disagree with your statement, as long as it is respectfully delivered, they will remember you.

Social media is not about selling. It’s about being remembered for who and what you are.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Written by Cathy Richardson

June 9, 2015 at 11:04 am

Posted in Recruitment

Leave a Reply

