The world and beyond – Surviving in the economic jungle

Advice, tips and tricks on how to engage with the UK jobs market and commercial environment, from a female executive's perspective

#Unipart #Automotive – The human story continues

leave a comment »


aftermath-rubbish-pileOne day after Unipart automotive went into liquidation, the reality of the situation has hit the market like a bomb.

There has been a massive influx of job applications into motor factor branches across the country, and available jobs are being snapped up.

Sadly, there will be more people redundant than there are jobs in the market.  Eventually, things will settle down and it will become clear what the future is going to hold. But there is no doubt that, as in any man-made disaster, the human cost of this event will take a long time to recount.

This morning, I received the following message on LinkedIn:

“Good morning Cathy,

I hope you are well. I was wondering whether you would be open to helping some former colleagues of mine.

I was a Unipart Branch Manager up until 7 weeks ago when I decided to take on a new opportunity.

Unfortunately, my former team find themselves in the situation that has been created as a result of the Unipart decline. As they don’t have LinkedIn accounts, would you be willing to give me your contact details so that I can pass them on to my team?

To give you an idea of how they operated, together we turned one of the biggest loss-making branches into the most profitable branch in 2013. They are exceptionally hard-working and dedicated and they would be a great asset to any company.

Any assistance you would be able to provide would be greatly appreciated.

I look forward to hearing from you soon. ”

The spirit of humanity I have seen expressed during this past week has been truly inspirational – This message is an example of that.

My advice to all Unipart’s newly redundant employees will be the same as the advice I always give when I do redundancy counselling: Proceed with caution and care. Make decisions based on your ethics and values, not out of desperation. Give yourself time to recover from the shock, the loss and the inevitable grief that accompanies any job loss. Don’t fall out of the frying pan just to end up in a new fire. Reconsider your options. Do you really need to leap directly into another job, or will your statutory redundancy payment allow you some breathing space to reassess your situation? Is the job you are accepting one in which you will thrive and settle, or is it a stop gap? Be aware of the future implications of short-term decisions.

From next week, I will be blogging content from my e=book “I lost my job – What now?” based on all my outplacement and redundancy support knowledge and experience. I will be happy to speak to anyone who needs advice and assistance.

Written by Cathy Richardson

July 25, 2014 at 9:49 am

Posted in Recruitment

Leave a Reply

