The world and beyond – Surviving in the economic jungle

Advice, tips and tricks on how to engage with the UK jobs market and commercial environment, from a female executive's perspective

#Unipart #Automotive – The walls tumble down. But what about the people?

with one comment


WallsAnd there it is, at last – news about the final fate of Unipart Automotive. Wales Online have the most clear report so far: Administration with only a few branches bought by The Parts Alliance and Andrew Page, salvaging only a handful of jobs resulting in 1,000+ redundancies.

It is heartbreaking.

This morning, I had a call from a Branch Manager prior to him making the announcement to his staff. He asked if I would mind my details being passed on to them for job seeking assistance. Still, even in the midst of such disappointment and shock, these people care about each other and want to do the right thing.

I did make an offer of outplacement weeks ago, but this was ignored. It is so sad that the human fall-out of corporate strategy is always overlooked. Unipart’s employees have been immensely loyal and stalwart. I take my hat off to every single one of them.

Now, I brace myself for the onslaught on the jobs market. Already, my phone has been ringing off the hook this morning.

The sad thing is that many of Unipart’s staff never contemplated looking for new jobs. They have no CVs, they have not attended interviews for years, job seeking is an alien concept to a lot of these newly redundant people. Many are entirely unprepared for a changed jobs market that is now online and hugely competitive.

The lucky ones based in the acquired branches will TUPE across to The Parts Alliance and Andrew Page. Many will find new homes with companies like Euro Car Parts, who have been aggressively targeting the branches in the past few weeks. Several more will go to smaller factors. For the rest, who knows? I wish them the best of fortunes in finding new jobs quickly.

When I do redundancy support workshops, I always council redundant employees to take a few days off before launching into the jobs market. Rest, recover, repair from the shock. The grief process for losing a job is the same as for losing a loved one. In effect, they all did love Unipart and wanted to work there forever. Now, a choice has been made on their behalf in which they had no power. Getting over that may take some healing time.

There will be some other opportunities available at The Parts Alliance, depending on geographic location and business requirements. I will welcome contact from all Unipart ex-employees to discuss these. If I can help a good person get into a good job, I will do my best to assist.

Good luck to you all

 

 

 

Written by Cathy Richardson

July 24, 2014 at 10:56 am

Posted in Recruitment

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love the quote Cathy
    “In effect, they all did love Unipart and wanted to work there forever. ”

    After looking at the deluge of LinkedIn status updates, I haven’t seen a single angry one – photos of the teams on their last day sharing a drink in the office, ex-employees talking of the good days they had.

    However, its a big bump to reality – and I wish them all the best!

    PM

    patmcd172

    July 24, 2014 at 9:16 pm


Leave a Reply

