The world and beyond – Surviving in the economic jungle

Advice, tips and tricks on how to engage with the UK jobs market and commercial environment, from a female executive's perspective

Am I hitting the Mark? Fun Friday philosophy

leave a comment »


man with question on white. Isolated 3D imageThis phenomenon is so strange, it deserves a blog post!

Today, I have 2 candidates named Mark going for job interviews at the same company, but for different jobs. One of the interviewers is also named Mark. The strange thing is that in this particular organisation, both the MD and Sales Director are also named Mark. That makes 5 Marks with some involvement in my professional life on one day!

This slightly complicates communication. The phone rings, and the person at the other end says: “Hi Cathy, its Mark.”

Which Mark? One of the Marks already in the mix? Or are you a new Mark that the universe has thrown into the pool to stir things up a bit?

Not that I have a problem with Marks – They are all perfectly friendly, easy to deal with and perfectly professional gentleman. In fact, I have yet to find a mark with whom I do not get on. I had a quick look at my database, and currently 174 Marks entrust me with their CVs. I thought that was quite impressive!

However, I just wonder where all the Georges, Michaels, Trevors and Tims have disappeared to at the moment. When you do decide to make an appearance, please try to do so one at a time. I have my hands full of Marks, so I’m not sure how well I will be able to manage an onslaught of any other name!

 

 

 

 

Written by Cathy Richardson

March 21, 2014 at 9:32 am

Posted in Recruitment

Leave a Reply

